Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Finding the balance, and finding perfect.

on August 7, 2014

Dudes and dudettes, you wonderful people who will still read this even after a month of radio silence. My life was at the same time both incredibly crazy busy, and intensely boring.

But now, with only 23 days before I get married I finally have something that I’d like to talk about. I thought that by this point, the wedding would just be ticking along and would only need a few bits of input. Apparently not. Apparently there is still crazy family stuff that can be sprung on you, and still stuff that needs to be sorted.

On the other hand, I’m following the advice of an amazing wedding blog site that I found a few months back and I’m finally accepting that it won’t be perfect.

HOLD YOUR HORSES. I’m not saying that I’m upset with my wedding, and I’m not settling for less. I’m just accepting that some bits (the bits I don’t care as much about), aren’t as important to me and therefore aren’t going to be perfection.

The things that will be perfect are thanks in great part to my amazing family and friends. My dress, which I pick up tomorrow, is perfect. It suits me, it makes me happy and it fits me perfectly. My bouquet, which arrived yesterday, is as close to perfect so it makes no difference that it isn’t the full brooch bouquet I originally wanted. It’s a beautiful bouquet, and I love it. My honeymoon, just waiting for an email from a campsite I fell in love with, is going to be perfect.

I thought for ages that I wanted a big foreign holiday. Couldn’t do that – couldn’t afford passports. Okay, well maybe a cottage in Scotland. Nope, still couldn’t afford it and couldn’t find one I fell in love with enough to splash out. But yesterday my epiphany struck and I realised that I want to make the most of the experiences I can have on honeymoon. Every time I go on guide camp, I want to show Hairy the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. I want to do the silly activities. The site I found does surfing, has compost loos and a collection of rescue animals. Does that not sound perfect?

Some things have had to be a compromise, but I’ve always managed to find the balance between my happiness and theirs. I didn’t have to compromise for my hen do. Last weekend, I had one of the best weekends ever with my sister and some friends. We went to Camden, watched shows, got so drunk and (I did at least), danced like crazy people. Then there was all the penis related hilarity, and I found that I don’t really know Hairy as well as I thought. Partly because he helped set hard questions and partly because I think I was drunk and hungover at the same time. YES.

And finally, I’m okay with everything. In 23 days and about 3 hours, I get to stand in front of everyone I love and tell Hairy that I love him. That genuinely is the biggest part of my day, and the rest is just chocolate flavoured frosting.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

