Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I’m not brave.

on October 26, 2014

I can guarantee that in no world could I ever count as a brave person. I’m not the sort of person who likes to run head first into the next thrill seeking shenanigan but I have to admit I’ve made myself proud recently.

On Monday just gone, my Guide unit had an animal encounters group come to our hall and run an evening for us. The group was called Oreo and Friends, and I believe they’re a Nottingham based group that looks after and gives the opportunity to meet exotic animals in an up close and personal setting. I was insanely proud of how well our girls behaved, and it was probably one of the best things that I’ve ever done.

Thing is, I hate spiders. I hate them with a passion, and make Hairy deal with them when they’re in our home (far too regularly for my liking). But while I was at this evening with my Guides, I was encouraging them to try holding an animal that they might not have been overly comfortable with the idea of – and so I held a tarantula. Called Lolita. Alright, it scared the ever loving bejeezus out of me, and I was so not okay when she started to climb up my arms but on the other spider-holding-hand, I can now say that I’ve held a tarantula.

It was also my first encounter with any sort of snake and yet by the end of it I was actually able to hold  a Burmese python. My favourite part by far though was getting a cuddle from Oreo, the raccoon. Yep, you did hear me right. Oreo was a lovely little raccoon who toddled around the room on a harness but then decided that he’d rather get scratches and attention than go back in his cage. I actually now have a pair of tights with a hole in that came from raccoon claws. Like, wow.

See, I’m not brave. While I was at work being shown fire procedures and the like, I was told to probably not use the fire extinguishers unless it was a small fire and I was feeling brave. My coworker who was being shown around at the same time laughed and said that I’d definitely be the person to be being brave. It played on my mind a bit throughout the day – does she just see me as this brash, overbearing person? We started on the same day and I thought that she was much younger than me. She thought I’d been working there for ages – both of us were wrong. I’m actually younger than her, and I’ve only had experience as a waitress at a restaurant a few years ago. I’m just lucky that I’m good at pretending to be confident, and willing to put myself out there.

I don’t feel like a brave person. I don’t try to find things that make me scared so that I can overcome them. I don’t like haunted houses, I get a little bit creeped out by the dark and I still have a bit of a phobia about going into shops first. What I can say about myself though is that I won’t shy away from an opportunity any more. I’ve done my fair share of being too scared to do things, and I just don’t want to do that any more.

So that’s probably where I’m proudest of myself. I’m not a brave person, but I will always try to take the opportunities that come my way (particularly if I’m in front of people that I don’t want to look bad to).

 

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

