Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Today is a stupendous day.

on November 12, 2014

Sometimes it’s just the smallest change that makes everything better.

Today we had the right number of people to cover our shifts and suddenly work was a lot easier to manage. I sang a lot of Les Miserables at work and had a right old giggle.

Today I refused to let the little things get to me, and somehow they didn’t. I dropped a plate, had mardy customers and still an annoying coworker but I stayed pretty damn cheerful, even if I do say so myself. Today I went to the doctors and got the all clear – no cystic ovaries for me! Everything looks fine and dandy, so that’s a huge relief.

I was just thinking about today and wondering if it was of historical interest. Did you know that the first known photograph of the Loch Ness Monster was taken on 12th November, 1933? I didn’t. It was also that day that the Nazis received 92% of the vote in Germany. I think I like the Loch Ness better…

Then I realised that something momentous did happen today. Like, actually today. For the first time in human history we put a robotic probe on a comet. You’ve probably already heard all about this, but I think it’s stupendous and could do with repeating. 10 years ago we sent a probe called Philae into deep space so that it could intercept a comet, land on it and hopefully teach us a bit more about where the water on Earth could have come from.

Can you believe it’s been going for ten years? Its route was plotted so it orbited Earth a couple of times to gain momentum and then rocketed past the sun which handily re-powered it so it could keep going. It took 31 months to get close enough for that to happen and today we got the first images back from Philae.

This is the moment that I feel like I’ve been waiting for. I read science fiction, watched sci fi films and always felt a bit betrayed that I don’t have a robotic teacher and we’re nowhere near living on Mars. On the other hand, this is the stuff that actually is real. I can accept that we won’t be having Multivac any point soon if I can hear more about us putting a probe on a comet that is 6.4 billion kilometres away. It apparently sank 4cm upon impact, which means it was probably a pretty soft surface. If we can find out more about this, we may be able to say that a comet like this could have been the origins of water and ultimately us on Earth.

I think this is a momentous day. It’s not always about looking back and reveling in what we’ve achieved so far, but so much about moving forward and learning more. I’d happily give up the next seven generations of smartphones to get that floating skateboard I’ve been waiting for forever.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

