Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Lincoln shopping trip.

on November 15, 2014

Today I spent all day avec les parents, since they’re up for the weekend having a visit. It’s been a lovely day, albeit a slightly pricy one! Pops and I popped out to the shops this morning to pick up bits and bobs for making chutney and Christmas cake this weekend, and it was a tad expensive and may have made me cry inside a little bit…

We headed over to Lincoln for about lunchtime, although traffic was standard Saturday traffic and an absolute nightmare. I spent all afternoon with Mops wandering about Lincoln and doing actual window shopping, with a little bit of real buying of stuff on the side. It’s been an age since Mops and I had a day to do that without having to hurry and it was an absolute pleasure.

We may have been looking at Christmas themed clothes… I may have fallen in love with a t-shirt that has a snowman on the front. It’s over here. I may also be popping back to pick it up on Monday since I love it a lot. I think that personally, a t-shirt would be better than a Christmas jumper because I tend to get a bit warm and take off my jumpers whereas that would always be festive.

Or maybe that’s just my justification for it.

One of the nicest things about today was sitting in the car on the way over to Lincoln (a luxury since Hairy and I don’t drive), and singing along to some of the old songs that Mops and I used to play while we were driving to school. I loved that hit of nostalgia, and having a chance to catch up with Mops and Pops because we haven’t seen them since we got married.

I did some beading today as well, and made a pair of black and white button earrings. They’re a bit long for Mops, but I’ll probably wear them to work in the hopes that someone will see them and ask where I got them! I’ve already had a commission for some earrings from one of the lads that I work with who’d like some of my trees-in-bottles earrings for his girlfriend for Christmas. He’s willing to pay me £5 for them as well!

We started Christmas shopping today, Mops and I. She’s got presents for me and Hairy, nothing big but still lovely. My sister has got an initial present for Hairy, so it’s all go for us on the Christmas front! I’m a stupidly festive person, and I can’t wait to get going with all the Christmas malarkey like mince pies and decorating the house. I am more than tempted to get this for the tree…

It’s a Weeping Angel tree topper! It may be the only geek thing we have this year, but we have time to grow our collection. This year, creepy angels. Next year, Daleks…

Today has been lovely and relaxed. It’s late, so I probably won’t be writing much more tonight since I’m absolutely wiped out.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

