Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Monday is bad for blogging.

on November 17, 2014

I spent all this morning looking for Christmas presents, so I’m sure you’ll forgive me for that. It’s normally quiet at work, but I get home and suddenly it’s all go in the Hairy household.

Monday is Guides night, and it sucks. I so don’t enjoy Guides on a Monday, although tonight should be an easy one because we’re doing “team building” games – otherwise just known as games. It’s going to be challenging though because the other senior Guider won’t be there so it’s me, our new leader and a student helper who’s coming along to see what it’s all about. Yeah… This may not have been the best option, but oh well. Too late to back out now!

To help with the manic busyness of tonight, I have actually been an old lady and popped a pork hock in the slow cooker. One of my favourite things about autumn/winter is the food – slow cooked joints, stews, curries and roasts are all coming out of my kitchen now it’s colder and that sort of thing is acceptable. Well, I make curries all year round but they’re super amazing in the winter with all sorts of yummy squashes in as well.

Also, in my bid to make this a super short post today so I can go finish getting ready for Guides, I’m popping up a few links should the urge to look at things I’ve been looking at takes your fancy.

Feminist issues related news:

A youtuber called Sam Pepper is getting rightfully called out for his awful behaviour here.

Time has apologised for including “feminism” as one of the words that we should ban for 2014; here‘s a link to read about that.

I know it’s a bit behind times, but Thor is now a woman! Great article from the launch of Thor’s new face here.

Webcomics I am trying out:

This is a thoroughly beautiful, yet painfully slow comic about the zombie apocalypse. I’m on the 37th page and we haven’t even got beyond basic infection yet. Wonderful artwork though, so check it out if you like pretty things.

Another comic recommended to me by my brother-in-law. Fun, female focused and moving along nicely. Haven’t tried as much of this one, but I’m hoping it’ll be good. Find it here.

Crafting plans:

No links here, but I’m hoping to finish my beaded flower soon and get working on some Christmas decorations! I shall share with you later, but the picture quality will be dreadful as I haven’t got a working camera. Sad face.

Currently watching:

Masterchef. American Horror Story. Doctor Who (old new Who though). Mostly Masterchef, and bemoaning the loss of Michel Roux Junior. I loved that man.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

