Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Earrings!

on November 19, 2014

I’ve got a bit beading mad over the past week, although I can only find two of the pairs of earrings that I made. I did find a picture of the button earrings, but I’m wearing them so you have some of my face too! Please forgive the awful picture quality, I took the pictures on my phone as I broke my camera.

Both earrings

So, here we go with both of them together. I used some of the little trees in bottles and attached them to earring hooks with bailes. These are currently the most popular of the earrings I’ve been making which is lucky bearing in mind how many of them I can actually make with relative ease. All the hard work was done earlier in the year, but as they never got used I figured I may as well make something new out of them!

Earrings

Close up! All the trees came out differently – I’m not a big fan of the one on the left, but hey ho. It’s a unique piece of jewellery so I’m refusing to get all twitchy over how they don’t match. Don’t make me all twitchy… I’ve actually been asked by one of the people I work with to make a pair of these earrings, so I’m really excited about that. I know it’s easy, but I’m quite chuffed that someone is willing to buy them and give them as a present.

Swarovski earrings

I’ve totally fallen in love with these earrings already. I made them today, using my tips to pick up the bits I need. It’s a really simple pattern, made with inspiration from here. The bead shop in Nottingham that I usually go to didn’t have enough of the green beads that I wanted, so I got creative and went with the treated ones that have a beautiful colour to them. They were a bit more expensive, but I’m really impressed with how they turned out.

button earrings

And finally, my button earrings. Made from a pack of buttons that I originally picked up to fix Hairy’s trousers, I had to adapt a pattern from one of Mops’ books as I didn’t have any chain in. That’s made from 19 jump rings fastened together so it’s actually a lot longer than it looks in the picture. I used black and white buttons because I like black and white (and they were the only colours I had in!), although I’m itching to try it out with a multi-coloured set of buttons. I think that’s going to look amazing. Mops has asked me to make her some of these earrings in navy, as the ones that I’m wearing there were too long for her.

All in all, a successful crafting week. I’m planning on trying out some new patterns and techniques soon, so I’m getting all excited about beading again. I’m hopefully going to have enough time (and resources!) to make some Christmas decorations as well, but for the moment I’m happy with my earrings.

One response to “Earrings!

  1. They are all very cute and the button ones are really unique and wonderful !! I have a box of buttons so you have given me some ideas ! I have used them on charm bracelets but never on earrings !! I think the little trees in the bottles are awesome !! I have wanted to make the beaded Christmas trees for years but have never done it, yours came out very nice !! I have to get beading again, I have gotten away from it, but plan to finish three sets I have set out this week !!!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

