Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Out of oblivion.

on June 10, 2015

Well hello to all the chaps and chapesses who are still paying any attention to me. I faded into oblivion for a while because I’d run out of things to say but now I have some things that I am suitably outraged about, and some really good things that are happening.

Sandwich post – good things first. I have started an online craft page for my bits and pieces and I have finally had my first big commission! YAY! Go check me out at Simply Susie on facebook – I will be starting up a crafting blog on here at some point, but so far it’s just the page.

Secondly, I have a rant. I’m in the middle of job hunting again, so my brother-in-law keeps sending me jobs and links to applications that he thinks might interest me. This is totally great and really helpful, as he often finds jobs that I’d be interested in but may not have found yet. My annoyance is that these so-called “entry level” jobs actually require you to have butt-tonnes of experience.

FYI “entry level” jobs are supposed to be jobs that you can get into with a minimum of experience/qualifications. They’re supposed to be positions that university graduates could realistically apply to, and have a shot at. NOT ON YOUR NELLY. The wages are low, so experienced people are never going to apply, and the experience they ask for is daft.

It’s my usual gripe – how am I supposed to get experience in the sector if I can’t get a job in it? I got a job as a waitress/cleaner because they were the positions I could actually get and I needed the money in order to live. I can’t afford to take an unpaid internship, and I don’t have time to volunteer. How am I supposed to move on in life if I’m stuck in a double-bind like this?

I will still be applying for the job, and potentially lying a little bit in order to make me a better candidate but I’m raging a little over this. I’m not stupid, I just don’t have the required experience.

Other good things. I’m seeing my sister this weekend, parents next week and then off to guide camp. Busy, but good.

One response to “Out of oblivion.

  1. Sarah says:

    Eugh I’m so glad to see someone else annoyed about this! I’m stuck in the same loop at the moment – in some cases you need previous work experience to apply for work experience, which seems utterly ridiculous to me! At least know that you’re in good company, it’s incredibly hard being a graduate sometimes 😦

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

