Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

In pursuit of peace.

on November 13, 2015

Hi guys, me again. Seems like this is the place I turn to when I can’t say the words to the actual humans in my life and just need to get some of the words gone from my head.

So I’m sorry if this is just me moaning again, but also thank you for listening and reading.

I don’t know what sparks it, but I’m sinking in a bad patch again. I feel disconnected, lonely, and although I know why I feel like that for the most part it doesn’t make it any easier. I just got off skype with my sister – she’s currently off travelling and I’m so happy for her but I do miss her so much.

It’s my common theme I guess – I want what I can’t have. My life is a string of excellent things and people, and yet I am always sat here wanting something I can’t have. Friends I used to be close to, that are bad for me and aren’t a part of my life, and yet I always wonder about trying to rekindle the friendship in the memory of what it was. Jobs, career prospects that I closed the door to, but now I kind of wonder where I’d be if I’d thought about pursuing those passions instead.

At the moment it feels like all I do is sleep and work. I’m working so hard, running so fast, trying to catch up with everything in an industry where the services are constantly changing and evolving and I haven’t a clue where to begin. I am finding it so hard, and I’m getting so frustrated at myself when I can’t get to grips with it and keep making mistakes. I hate having to bother other people to get help, and even though I am trying to get help it’s so often a case that I just have to learn facts and not the process of how to get answers.

I miss my friends and family. I love Christmas, and I’m really looking forward to it but a huge part will be missing this year and I don’t know how it’s going to be without her. I miss my friends that I haven’t seen in months. I’m trying to arrange to see them, but thanks to all being busy people it’s not looking like I will see anyone until after Christmas.

I miss my Guide unit. I miss feeling helpful, feeling like I know what I’m doing. I miss being needed for something. I have no time to give now either, to any sort of hobby as I can’t dedicate any night of the week to anything because at any given time I might be working any time between 7am and 7pm.

I no longer feel like I’m losing my identity to my job, but I am beginning to falter a bit with the pressure. I am clawing back time to try to keep my safety checks in place but it’s a slow process when I’ve gone so many weeks without being able to. I have to adapt to having no time to go to the gym, barely any time to craft and I need to figure out how to sustain these pressures.

It’s not all doom and gloom though, I promise. You needn’t worry about me doing anything drastic – there are wonderful people at work that I’m getting to know, our garden is entirely safe for our bunnies who are much happier now, our landlord is nice, Maisie the moped is brilliant and Hairy has got a temp job for the moment. Things will get better, but if you have any coping mechanisms, any strategies that help keep you together when you feel like you’re falling apart, please let me know. I could do with a way to focus and relax – relaxing being one of the toughest things for me to do!

One response to “In pursuit of peace.

  1. What you are going through is very normal !! Most people go through those times and you somehow find yourself looking back and thinking, hmm, I remember when I felt all this stuff was piled on me and I could not cope and that has been over for weeks, months, years and I did not even realize it !!
    It is hard to let go of past friends, places and things, it is something I have gone through as well. But just do not be tempted to bring in things to your life that you know are bad for you, it is never worth it !!
    Get a journal, a private one, a notebook, compostion book, anything you can, and just write in it every day. Just how you are feeling, what you want to do, what you want to change, what you are mad about, frustrated about , everything. Journaling helps a lot and I think when you can write and not worry about anyone reading it, you can be honest and let your feelings out. You can always tear it up later if you do not want to keep those feeling on paper around, just the act of writing it can help a lot. If you have problems with issues in your life, people in your life, write to them, or it , and then burn it or tear it up. Just addressing the stuff that has you upset, or frustrated, can be very cathartic.
    I know when our kids were young, I wrote a lot, and once they were older, I tore up all those old journals because I would never want them to read them one day, they were all my frustrations with life and circumstances and never about them, they were always a blessing, but they frustrated me sometimes and I would write about that, so when we moved from California to Texas, I shredded every single one of them.
    You will get through it, talking to others, writing here and a private journal, they can all help you go work through what you are going through !!
    I hope I could help, but I am always here to listen !! I am 55 now, but I was younger at one time too, and I understand !!!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

