Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Good morning Autumn!

on September 12, 2012

Good morning to all you lovely people! It’s still rather early, so I’m still in bed and wearing Hairy’s old celt trousers to maintain some semblance of decency. I was browsing about on here yesterday and came across many wonderful blogs describing their autumnal wardrobes and happiness that they get to wear big jumpers and the tights/boots combination again. Now that surprised me on a few levels – I wear tights and boots all year round! I am in sunny sunny England, so that’s pretty much sensible clothing… And I was also unaware it had turned autumnal since the weekend! I haven’t really left the flat much for the past few days so when I went out last night and was getting chilly in a big hoody I knew the weather had turned.

So I’m piggy-backing on a trend and diving right into saying how much I love autumn. It’s my favourite season for so many reasons and you lucky lovelies get to hear why ๐Ÿ™‚ First of all, the clothes. I love big cuddly jumpers that you just want to snuggle, thick woolly tights and scarves. I have a plethora of scarves that I just never wear! Maybe I should do a scarf a day challenge – what do you think? I’m also so tempted to buy a bright kilt to wear with a thick aran jumper, just because I can.

Secondly, I met my Hairy in the autumn, about this time two years ago. It always makes me happy around this time because we had such a beautiful time getting to know each other and even though other things were going to pot, with him I had a little bubble of solace and happiness. We had many long walks together, kicking up leaves and jumping in puddles! That’s another reason why I love this season – it brings out my not-so-inner child! I love any excuse to put on a big pair of boots and go scuffling along the pavements getting leaves in my hair and getting cold, then coming back to a hot drink and dry clothes.

The food. I always take autumn as an excuse to crack out the hearty soups and stews that I didn’t want to cook over the summer because they’re too heavy to eat when it’s hot. But now it’s perfect! A slow simmered stew makes the whole flat smell amazing and is just so satisfying to eat. I have an entire recipe book of winter warmers that I can share with you, if you so wish! I also like baking lots around this time: apple crumble, pies, sticky sweet and spicy cakes… Any chance I get, I’ll be in the kitchen with my pinny on. I promise to pop up a photo of my pinny – a present from my sisterย  because I’m that cool!

Fourth, I get to go back to uni. I end up going a bit stir crazy over the summer, and now I’m only two weeks away from starting my third year! It means I’m going to be seeing my friends that haven’t been around for ages, I have things to be thinking about again and I may even pick up some crafting. I make beaded flowers and I’ve been planning on doing it in the evenings again as it makes me so happy even though I never know what to do with the finished product! May just sell them all ๐Ÿ˜€

Somehow the weather seems prettier around this time. It just feels so nice to be outside – the air is crisper, and often smells like wood smoke! The sunshine is more refined and you can call me crazy, but I love a good windy day. It means I get to bring out my cloak that’s been languishing in a box and swoosh around like an elf ๐Ÿ˜€

Yeah, I think I ran out of ideas then… Oooh! This is the perfect time for hot spiced drinks – I saw a beautiful idea for hot spiced cider in carved out apples. Amazing or what?

When’s your favourite season? Have you lost your summer days yet or are you holding out for an Indian summer? What’s your go-to outfit for a blustery autumn day? Looking forward to hearing from you ๐Ÿ™‚


6 responses to “Good morning Autumn!

  1. Ah, yes. These are all such wonderful things about Autumn! It’s not quite cold enough in my area to wear tights ALL day, but I can still get away with them in the morning, which I love! And I can’t wait to start cooking stews and spiced cakes and ciders and fall-y food. It all makes me so happy!

    • Same here! My plan for next year is to move into a house with a garden so I can start growing nice things in my garden so I can have a pickling fest come autumn time ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m very much looking forward to the woolly tights weather, where it feels a bit like I’m wearing jumpers on my legs ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. L says:

    Oh I love this post, it makes me feel all warm just reading it! I love the Autumn and Winter seasons the most as yes you’re right, it’s the boots and the jumper combination. I love, love tights as there’s no need to primp too often, something I wish I could get away with in the summer.

    The food is just amazing, I’m somewhat a lover of cooking, and soups and stews are just so hearty!

    I think the best thing about the colder months are, when you’re snuggling up by a fire, (or the central heating) with a hot cup of coco, and it’s Friday night, and you don’t feel guilty that you’re not out painting the town yellow. Big socks, baggy jumpers, and a good book is all you need.

    I really love reading your blog posts, keep them coming! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for stopping by and your absolutely lovely comment!

      Tights are an absolute staple, and luckily my Hairy loves them too. I like getting pretty patterned ones so I’m not just always in plain black!

      I’ll share some of the recipes with you if you like, I’ve got plenty lined up to try! I like adding a bit of spice into a lot of my food because Hairy is such a chilli fiend ๐Ÿ™‚

      That sounds like the absolutely best thing ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be doing that soon, except I have a rocking chair to add into the picture, and I’ll be reading uni books ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ohjuliaann says:

    This post is great! I love your writing style.

    It’s starting to feel like autumn a teeny bit in St. Louis, but that crisp, clean feeling hasn’t arrived yet. Instead we’re still having our moments of high, high humidity and equally high temperatures. Hopefully we’ll follow suit soon, because after hearing about England’s weather I am jealous as can be!

    • Thanks for the compliment ๐Ÿ™‚ I muchly appreciate it. I love reading your blog too.

      We had pouring rain most of yesterday, although it’s looking nice and bright to start today. I hope you get some good autumnal weather soon!

Leave a comment

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

A Texan's View of Life

Kids, Books, Army, & More

Cee's Photo Challenges

Teaching the art of composition for photography.

SoundEagle ๐Ÿฆ…เณ‹แƒฆเฎœเฎ‡

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

MonPlaysGames

plus added randomness...

Janice Hall Heck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!โ„ข

It's Just Life

Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary

The Life of Kylie

Laugh. Think. Cry.