Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Sunshine award. Time to procrastinate!

on November 23, 2012

Sunshine Award

Just look at that. Isn’t it pretty on a grey and rainy November day? I got nominated for this by Reen, over at http://thelovingrain.wordpress.com/ She’s pretty new to her blog, but she’s got a great positive attitude.

  1. Acknowledge the person who gave this award in a blog post.
  2. Do the Q&A below.
  3. Pass on the award to 10 deserving and inspiring bloggers, inform them and link to their blogs.

Q&A:

  1. Who is your favorite philosopher? I honestly haven’t got a clue! I suppose I should really start reading some philosophy so that I can sound educated… As it is, I’m going to go with my favourite medieval person. I’m a pretty big fan of Snorri Sturluson, Icelandic blokey in the 12th to 13th centuries who was actually pretty important and wrote down a LOT about Viking mythology. Very little of which I’m actually using in my dissertation… ๐Ÿ˜€
  2. What is your favorite number? I know it’s pretty typical, but 7. 7 is a good number ๐Ÿ™‚
  3. What is your favorite animal? Has to be wolf, but I’ve got a big soft spot for rabbits because my first pet was a rabbit called Woffles. I was young, and he had a woffly nose. Don’t judge!
  4. What is your favorite time of day?ย The few minutes just after the alarm in the morning, when we’ve hit the snooze so I can doze and cuddle with Hairy.I can hear you throwing up…
  5. What are your Facebook and Twitter? Facebook – I did think about getting a page for my blog but that requires effort. Twitter – it’s really not that thrilling because I can’t really understand the point of it…
  6. What is your favorite holiday? Urm… Can I have the October half term? Not that I ever have one any more, but it’s just such a nice break in the lead up to Christmas.
  7. What is your physical favorite activity? Definitely yoga type activities. I’m not very good at high impact sports, running or anything like that, but I love the feeling of pushing myself while standing pretty still! Balance class is a clear favourite now – I even have somebody to go with!
  8. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink? Erm… Well I drink water all the time. I always have to have a bottle of water with me (hence calamities like this one). If it’s a hot drink, it’s tea all the way but cold drinks I’m a big fan of orange juice.
  9. What is your passion? Yurk. A virtuous part of me wants to say my degree and Vikings, another says Hairy… I’m going to go with reading and beading because I miss having enough spare time to do both of them.
  10. What is your favorite flower? Freesia and honeysuckle. Freesias smell beautiful, I really want to have some in my wedding bouquet I love them so much. Hairy once got me a bunch of flowers made at the florists and because he can’t smell much, all he said was “I know she likes freesias and the colour purple” and then came home with a beautiful bouquet for me. Honeysuckle will always remind me of my great-grandparents, my Grandad Honeybone used to grow it over the garden path leading up to their back door. I have many happy memories of that place, and I miss it very much.

Okie pokie! Time to pass this bad boy on.

  1. http://tutusandtinyhats.wordpress.com
  2. http://virginiaplantation.wordpress.com/
  3. http://theweightlossartist.wordpress.com
  4. http://burlesquemama.com
  5. http://eggswithketchup.com
  6. http://contessabessa.com
  7. http://naughtynoralyn.com/
  8. http://thisbrokenjaw.wordpress.com/
  9. http://marcatodesigns.wordpress.com/
  10. http://ohjuliaann.wordpress.com

Obviously this is just a small selection of blogs that I love to read (maybe these were the ones that jumped out at me as I speedily browse my reader… Don’t hate me, I’m supposed to be writing about Cnut and Emma) So yes, I always read posts by these guys.


10 responses to “Sunshine award. Time to procrastinate!

  1. mmmarzipan says:

    Congrats on your award :)! Interesting answers! Do you have Scandinavian/Icelandic heritage?

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s my second, so I’m still overly proud about it ๐Ÿ˜€ No I don’t think I do, but if my degree works by osmosis I may have turned a little bit Viking… ๐Ÿ™‚

      • mmmarzipan says:

        Interesting subject for study! I love being surrounded by a visible Viking history here. All the best with your degree and congrats again ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Stephyy says:

    Awesome! i love your adventures with Hairy and can’t wait to read more. You’re actually one of my fave blogs if the list of nominees were more. But oh well. ๐Ÿ˜€ with much love ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! I’m sure you’ll find some more bloggers who are awesome out there – there are plenty of them ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll have to get onto some more adventuring once this work is done.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thanks… Enjoyed reading your list and am mentally writing my own answers.

  4. Reen says:

    You really deserve it! Keep up the good work! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

A Texan's View of Life

Kids, Books, Army, & More

Cee's Photo Challenges

Teaching the art of composition for photography.

SoundEagle ๐Ÿฆ…เณ‹แƒฆเฎœเฎ‡

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

MonPlaysGames

plus added randomness...

Janice Hall Heck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!โ„ข

It's Just Life

Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary

The Life of Kylie

Laugh. Think. Cry.